Council Information

Positions in this election - Waitomo District Council

(a) Election of the Mayor

(b) Election of six (6) Councillors as follows:


Te Kuiti Ward

three (3) Councillors

Waitomo Rural Ward

three (3) Councillors


Waikato Regional Council – (WRC)


Election of two (2) Councillors to represent the Waipa-King Country constituency and one (1) Councillor to represent the Nga Tai ki Uta constituency.

There will be a separate candidate handbook for the WRC election available from the Waikato Regional Council on free phone 0800 800 401.



Population Statistics

Source (January 2022): Statistics NZ population estimates as at 30 June 2021.

District-wide Issue

Est Resident Population as at 30 June 2021




WDC Wards       

Est Resident Population as at 30 June 2021

Te Kuiti


Waitomo Rural



Electoral Staff Waitomo District Council


Electoral Officer (EO)

Warwick Lampp, Ltd


0800 666 048


Deputy Electoral Officer (DEO)

Sharon Schou, Waitomo District Council

Queen St, PO Box 404, TE KUITI

0800 932 4357


Waikato Regional Council – (WRC)

Electoral Officer (EO)

Mali Ahipene, Waikato Regional Council (WRC)

160 Ward St, Private Bag 3038, Waikato Mail Centre, HAMILTON.

(07) 859 0507


Horizons Regional Council (HRC)

Electoral Officer (EO)

Craig Officer, Horizons Regional Council (HRC)

11-15 Victoria Ave, Private Bag 11025, Manawatu Mail Centre, PALMERSTON NORTH.

0508 800 800