A Guide to Transfer Station fees and recycling

Waitomo District Council provides a range of waste management services to the community, including five Waste Transfer Stations located at Marokopa, Kinohaku, Piopio, Benneydale and Mokau.

Transfer Station Disposal fees

Charges are per refuse item: Van (each). If the amount of general refuse is over and above the standard item, additional charges will be applied.

Disposal of Unofficial rubbish bags	\$8.00
Wheelie Bin	\$23.00
Car boot	\$26.00
Van	\$48.00
Ute	\$55.00
Trailer	\$55.00
Special Refuse (E.g. Whiteware)	\$17.00
Televisions - each	\$25.00
Computer – each	\$15.00
Toaster/ kettle/ video recorder	\$5.00

You can recycle the following:

Plastic (types 1 and 2)

Any plastics types 1 and 2 will be accepted for recycling.



This can include soft drink bottles, milk bottles, ice cream containers and food packets such as biscuit trays or salad domes.

Remove the lids from all containers. Rinse all items thoroughly in warm water. Flatten as much as possible these can be placed in the plastic collection containers at all transfer Stations.

Remember, not all plastic items are types 1 and 2. The recycling number is printed on the underside of the bottle/ container.

Plastic items such as icecream containers and milk bottle lids cannot be re-used but can make great great craft materials.

Tin and Aluminium Cans

Tin and aluminium cans will be accepted at all transfer Stations.



Paper and cardboard

- Newspapers
- Household paper and card
- · Packaging cardboard
- Food boxes, ie: cereal boxes
- Egg cartons and trays
- · Corrugated cardboard

Do not include paper items that have food contamination, ie: fish and chip wrappers, pizza boxes.





Large amounts of cardboard can be recycled at the Waitomo District Landfill for free.

Glass

The Transfer Stations will accept glass bottles and jars. This includes clear, green and brown coloured glass.

DO NOT INCLUDE: light bulbs, glass plates or bowls, drinking or beer handles, ash trays, or broken glass.

Broken glass should be well wrapped in newspaper and put in a WDC Rubbish Bag.



0800 WDC Help (0800 932 4357)

Fax: (07) 878 7771

Email: info@waitomo.govt.nz

Waitomo District Landfill

Located on William Street, Te Kuiti Phone: 07 878 1137

Day	Opening Hours
Mon - Tue	CLOSED
Wed - Sun	9.00am - 4.00pm
Public Holidays:	1.00pm - 4.00pm
Christmas Day:	CLOSED
Good Friday:	CLOSED

Waitomo District Council encourages every household to undertake recycling to help reduce the amount of recyclable waste being sent to landfill.



Waitomo District Transfer Stations

The stations are manned when open to ensure maximum recycling is achieved.

Solid waste transfer station opening times are:

Transfer Station	Opening Hours
Awakino/Mokau on Manganui Road, Awakino	Mon 9am - 1pm, Wed 9am - 1pm, Sat 8am - 12pm, Sun 1 - 5pm
Kinohaku on Harbour Road	Mon 9am - 1pm, Wed 9am - 1pm, Sat 8am - 12pm, Sun 1 - 5pm
Benneydale on Mine Road	Mon 9am - 1pm, Wed 9am - 1pm, Sat 8am - 12pm, Sun 1 - 5pm
Piopio on Kahuwera Road	Mon 9am - 1pm, Wed 9am - 1pm, Sat 8am - 12pm, Sun 1 - 5pm
Marokopa on Marokopa Road	Mon 9am - 1pm, Fri 9am - 1pm, Sat 8am - 12pm, Sun 1 - 5pm



A Guide to **Transfer Station fees** and recycling



Creating a better future with vibrant communities and thriving business.

A Guide to Transfer Station fees and recycling is bought to you by Waitomo District Council, promoting Waste Minimisation.