Unite Against COVID-19

*** Waitomo District now in Alert Level 2

Our service information under Level 2.

View the All of Government Support Services Information.

The government website has everything you need to know about COVID-19 including the latest updates. Please keep safe and stay at home.

Waitomo District Profile

The Borough of Te Kuiti was constituted in 1910. In 1922 the Awakino County was amalgamated with a newly created Waitomo County Council (in an area of the then Otorohanga County) to form a new separate local authority. 

 Part of the Kawhia County was included with Waitomo County in 1956 while the balance of the former Kawhia County was incorporated with the neighbouring Otorohanga County. 

The Te Kuiti Borough and Waitomo County Councils were amalgamated to form the Waitomo District Council on 1 April 1976, and although minor changes to boundaries occurred with the 1989 re-organisation, the District remains largely unchanged today. 

The present Waitomo District Council was reconstituted on 1st November 1989.

Major District Events


New Zealand Shearing Championships
The Great New Zealand Muster
Te Kuiti Christmas Parade
Maniapoto Sports Festival (Bi-annually)
Marokopa Sports Day/Races


Our Neighbours

North - Otorohanga District

West - Tasman Sea

East - Taupo District

South - Ruapehu District



 Our Sister City

Tatsuno, Nagano Province, Japan




Te Kuiti

Waitomo Caves Village


Maniaiti / Benneydale 






Te Maika


Mokau Te Waitere Aria



Te Anga






 Prominent Achievers


Jim Bolger - Former Prime Minister (1990 - 1998)

Koro Wetere - Former MP and Minister of the Crown

Colin & Stan Meads - N.Z. All Blacks

David Fagan - World Champion Shearer

Rob Waddell - World Champion & Olympic Single Sculler

Farah Palmer - Captain, World Champion Womens Rugby

Jonathon Green - Gold Medallist, Special Olympics

Elyse Imber - 2009 Junior Sportswoman (BMX Racing)