New group to work on big issues in local government

14 Mar 2017

A new policy group to advise local government on the big issues facing communities nationwide will bring together a diverse and capable team.Local Government New Zealand’s new Policy Advisory Group will focus on the issues relating to the economic, environmental, social, and cultural well-being of New Zealand and its communities, including policy around water, climate change and housing.

LGNZ president Lawrence Yule says members of the group are highly experienced and capable local government leaders and will use their combined skills and knowledge to provide recommendations on the issues it covers.

“There is a lot of talent and experience in the local government family and this is a powerful way of developing policy that works across our diverse communities,” Mr Yule says.

“Looking ahead local government and the communities it serves have a range of challenges to meet. These include issues of immediate concern like housing affordability and rising infrastructure needs as well as longer term shifts like adapting to climate change, an ageing population and increasing urbanisation.

“This group will for the next three years help the sector set policies and strategies in response to these and other challenges. It is important work for the betterment of the whole country and I welcome those who have been appointed.”

Members of Policy Advisory Group are:

  • Chair – Richard Kempthorne, LGNZ National Council Member and Mayor, Tasman District Council;
  • Stuart Crosby, Councillor, LGNZ National Council Member and Bay of Plenty Regional Council;
  • David Bedford, Chair, Environment Canterbury;
  • Jenny Brash, Councillor, Greater Wellington Regional Council;
  • Ana Coffey, Councillor, Porirua City Council
  • Meng Foon, Mayor, Gisborne District Council;
  • John Forbes, Mayor, Opotiki District Council;
  • Richard Hills, Councillor, Auckland Council;
  • Janet Holborow, Deputy Mayor, Kapiti Coast District Council;
  • Simon Markham, Manager Strategy and Engagement, Waimakariri District Council.
  • Michael Meehan, Chief Executive, West Coast Regional Council;
  • Jane Nees, Deputy Chair, Bay of Plenty Regional Council;
  • Lan Pham, Councillor, Environment Canterbury;
  • Penny Pirrit, Director Regulatory Services, Auckland Council;
  • Bob Simcock, Councillor, Waikato Regional Council;
  • Paula Southgate, Councillor, Hamilton City Council; and
  • Piri-Hira Tukapua, Councillor, Horowhenua District Council.

LGNZ has also reformed its Governance and Strategy Advisory Group, which provides advice on the overall strategic direction of LGNZ and best practice approaches to local government governance, performance, funding and procedure.

Among other emerging issues this work will entail overseeing the LGNZ election manifesto ahead of this year’s general election, looking ahead to the 2019 local elections and boosting engagement in local government and advancing the Local Government Risk Agency.

The current members of the Governance and Strategy Committee are:

  • Lawrence Yule, President, LGNZ and Mayor, Hastings District Council (Chair);
  • Dave Cull, Vice President, LGNZ and Mayor, Dunedin City Council;
  • Wayne Guppy, Mayor, Upper Hutt City Council;
  • Aaron Hawkins, Councillor, Dunedin City Council;
  • Bonita Bigham, Councillor, South Taranaki District Council;
  • David Ayers, Mayor, Waimakariri District Council;
  • David MacLeod, Chair, Taranaki Regional Council;
  • Hon David Caygill, Councillor, Environment Canterbury;
  • Diane Calvert, Councillor, Wellington City Council;
  • Greg Innes, Councillor, Whangarei District Council;
  • Kelvin Clout, Deputy Mayor, Tauranga City Council;
  • Monique Davidson, Group Manager, Horowhenua District Council;
  • Phil Wilson, Governance Director, Auckland Council;
  • Pippa Coom, Local Board Chair, Auckland Council;
  • Tania McInnes, Deputy Mayor, Far North District Council; and
  • Hon Steve Chadwick, Mayor, Rotorua Lakes District Council.