Unite Against COVID-19

The government website has everything you need to know about COVID-19 including the latest updates, simple steps you can take to help slow the spread and what help is available. Updates to our services affected by COVID-19 can be found here.


The Stormwater Activity provides for the provision of some infrastructure in some built up areas for the collection and disposal of runoff from rainfall events to prevent local flooding. In the Waitomo District, Stormwater Assets serve both urban and rural settings.

The urban asset components, located mainly in the townships of Te Kuiti and Piopio, consist of a disposal network made up of open drains and some piped reticulation with associated structures.

In the rural areas which includes the small towns of Benneydale, Mokau, Waitomo Village, Awakino, Te Waitere and Marokopa, the Stormwater disposal infrastructure is mostly made up of components such as kerb and channel or drainage culverts associated with stormwater control on the local roads network.

Water Services Bylaw 2010

The Water Services Bylaw was adopted by Council on 10 February 2010.