Matariki Public Holiday - Friday 28 June 2024
Our Customer Service Centre, admin office, library and other services are closed for the Matariki Public Holiday 28 June 2024. View more info
Planned water shutdown: William Street, Te Kūiti – Wednesday 26 June 2024

Waitomo District Council will shutdown the water supply to the northern part of William Street and a few houses on Anzac Street and Julian Street in Te Kūiti. The shutdown will be from 8.30am to 4pm on Wednesday 26 June 2024 to enable Council contractor McIndoe Group to replace an old water pipe.

More info

Waitomo citizens recognized for their community contribution at Citizens Awards

28 May 2018, 11:28 AM

The Waitomo community recognizes the significant contribution that both individuals and community organisations can make in a community.

To enable formal recognition and to celebrate the significant contribution made to the Waitomo District by individuals within the community, the Waitomo District Council hosts a Citizens Awards event.  These Awards take place on a biennial basis with recipients being selected by Waitomo residents via a formal nomination process.

There are two award types; the Lifetime Achievement Award and the Waitomo Citizen’s Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is for individuals who have, over a number of years, demonstrated an outstanding community spirit and through their involvement in community projects and initiatives, made a significant difference to their communities.

Recipients of the Citizen’s Award have, over the relevant two years, demonstrated an outstanding community spirit and been involved in projects and initiatives that have made a difference to the Waitomo District.

This year the following were nominated for Lifetime Achievement Awards in recognition of their outstanding service to their communities:  James Anderson, Jenifer and Graeme Reinhardt, Noel Mc Quilkin, Pat Finlayson, Snow and June Nicol, Dr Petronella Kroef and Russell Aldridge.

The Citizens Award this year is a nomination for outstanding contribution to the Waitomo District, with particular recognition of the commitment to the Miniball competition, and was awarded jointly to Shelley Mitchell and Vicki Coll.

Family, friends and supporters joined in the Award celebrations at the Les Munro Centre on Sunday 27 May 2018 at 2.00pm followed by afternoon tea.

2018 Citizens Awards Ceremony Sunday 27 May 2018

Photo from left: Shelley Mitchell, Vicki Coll, Noel Mc Quilkin, Russell Aldridge, James Anderson, Dr Elly Kroef, Pat Finlayson, Snow and June Nicol, Jenifer and Graeme Reinhardt and Mayor Brian Hanna.