Waitomo District welcomes new Citizens

16 May 2018, 9:54 AM

A group of 13 people from six countries were welcomed as new citizens of New Zealand and the Waitomo District, on Thursday 26 April 2018.

Mayor Brian Hanna welcomed the group in the Council chambers in front of family and supporters. The citizens came from Britain, Samoa, Australia, Estonia, America and Argentina.

The new citizens were sworn in and awarded a citizenship certificate. A morning tea was held following the ceremony to mark the occasion. 

Mr Hanna says he enjoys being able to welcome new people. “It is great to help make this ‘the place you call home’. “We wish you all the best as you settle into the Waitomo District,” he says.

The formal ceremony is a very important step in the process of becoming a New Zealand citizen. 

Citizenship Ceremony 26 April 2018

Photo: (from left) Mayor Brian Hanna welcomes new citizens; Mr Michael and Mrs Joyce Barker, Gabriela Soledad Velazquez, Amy Purdie, Annely Promet, Jayne Peers-Adams, and Tuiala, Vaiomata, John, Kingeorge, Joytianna and Ida Fetalaiga.