Upcoming overnight road closure: Mangarino Road, Te Kūiti – 18 July 2024

A temporary road closure will be in place on Mangarino Road, Te Kūiti from 9am Thursday 18 July until 9am the following morning 19 July. The road closure is to allow maintenance work on the Mangarino Road Bridge. More info

WDC Notices

20 Apr 2017

Council Meeting Schedule - May 2017

The following meeting of the Waitomo District Council is scheduled for May 2017:

Council Meeting - Tuesday 2 May 2017 at 9.00am

An invitation is extended to members of the public to attend these meetings for observation purposes. 

Any member(s) of the public wishing to speak at a Council meeting are required to gain approval from the Mayor at least two working days prior to the meeting.

A copy of the agenda will be available on Council’s Website two working days before the meeting.

Service Information Anzac Day - Tuesday 25 April

Waitomo District Council Office will be closed. For After Hours Service Requests please phone 0800 932 4357.

Te Kuiti i-SITE Visitor Information Centre will be open from 10am – 2pm.

Waitomo District Library will be closed.

Waitomo District Aquatic Centre is open from 1pm – 5pm.

Kerbside Refuse and Recycling Collection Service.  The Tuesday service will take place as per normal. Place blue rubbish bags and green bin on kerbside by 8am.     

District Waste Transfer Stations are closed as per normal. Waitomo District Landfill is closed.

Notice of Routine Hydrant Flushing

WDC will be undertaking routine hydrant flushing in Te Kuiti, Benneydale, Mokau and Piopio from Thursday 20 to Friday 21 April 2017.

TE KUITI - Eastern Side: Anzac Street, Boddies Terrace, Broadfoot Place, Corinth Avenue, Ellison Avenue, Esplanade, Hinerangi Street, Kiwi Street, Liverpool Street, Mahoe Crescent, Ngarongo Street, Sturgess Terrace, Tammadge Street, Taruna Place, Taupiri Street, Tawa Heights, Tawa Street, Waitete Road, Walker Road, Wesley Avenue.

TE KUITI - Western Side: Ailsa Street, Awakino Road, Bayne Street, Butler Street, Cato Terrace, Colin Brook Place, Craig Terrace, Earl Street, Elizabeth Street, Haines Terrace, Hill Street, Hospital Road, King Street West, Lusk Street, Mary Street, Queen Street, St Andrews Court, St Lukes Crescent, Seddon Street, Te Kumi Road.

BENNEYDALE: Ellis Road, Georgetti Street and Mine Road.

MOKAU: Seaview Motorcamp, Oha St, Rangi Rd, Main Rd, Aria Tce, Point Rd, Tainui St, Takarei Tce, North St, Te Kauri Rd, Te Mahoe Rd.

PIOPIO: Moa St North, Tui St, Kiwi St, Huia St, Aria Rd, Moa St South, Kaka St, Kawana St, Poto St, View Terrace, Kuku St and Kea St.

While undertaking this work, WDC will make every effort to minimise the impact on supply.  In the event that temporary deterioration of your water quality occurs due to flushing in your street, it is advisable to first run your garden tap then the others for several minutes to remove any air bubbles and to restore water clarity.  Please do not run water through in house filters before taps are running clear.

Enquiries regarding this work should be made to WDC by phoning 07-878-0800.


ANZAC Day - Tuesday 25 April 2017


Members of the Public and Service Organisations are invited to attend the ANZAC Memorial Dawn Service at the Marae, Awakino Road, Te Kuiti.  With the dedication of the refurbished Memorial Monument needing to be observed before the Dawn Service, which starts at 6.00am, the itinerary for the Service will be as follows:

5.30am Attendees will assemble at the Awakino Road Entranceway and wait to be called onto the Marae.  Attendees will then move towards the Memorial Monument where a Ceremonial Blessing to dedicate the refurbished Monument will take place

6.00am ANZAC Memorial Service. A light breakfast will be provided to attendees following the Service


Members of the Public and Service Organisations are invited to attend the ANZAC Memorial Service which will be held at the Les Munro Centre, King Street East, Te Kuiti.  The program is: 

7.00am Parade to assemble at The Lines Company, corner of King Street East and Taupiri Streets, Te Kuiti

7.15am March from The Lines Company to the Les Munro Centre

7.30am ANZAC Service at the Les Munro Centre followed by Wreath Laying at the CenotaphThose attendees not participating in the Parade are requested to be seated in the Les Munro Centre by 7.20am.

Service Organisations, Guiding and Cub Members, and Members of the Public are invited to join the Parade.  

Please assemble behind the RSA contingent. Te Kuiti ANZAC Day Service enquiries to Waitomo District Council (Ph 878 0800)


The organisers of this year’s Piopio ANZAC Day Parade and Service would like to invite all local Service Organisations and members of the public to join the Returned Servicemen of the Piopio District for the 2017 ANZAC Day Memorial Service.  The program is:

10.30am    Assemble at St John Building, Moa Street, Piopio 

11.00am    March from St John Building to Cenotaph at Piopio War  Memorial Hall

11.05am    ANZAC Service and Wreath Laying

11.45am    Tea and Coffee will be available to attendees following the Service

All are welcome to participate in both the Parade and Service.  Members of the public are also invited to bring wreaths to lay at the Cenotaph as part of the proceedings.

Piopio ANZAC Day Service enquiries to Gillian (Ph 877 8836)