This is a friendly reminder with rates due this Friday 31 May, our customer service team is now conveniently located at the customer service centre at 160 Rora street in Te Kūiti, beside the Colin Meads statue.
Please visit the team here to make payment.
King's Birthday Weekend - Monday 3 June 2024

Our Customer Service Centre, admin office, library and other services are closed for King's Birthday Weekend - Monday 3 June 2024. View more info

District Councils Join Forces to support Learner Drivers

29 Aug 2016, 8:00 AM

The Waitomo and Otorohanga District Councils have joined forces to assist learner drivers in both districts to pass their restricted licence. 

Until recently, both District Councils have provided separate learner driver training programmes for 16 to 24-year olds in their districts through the government funded Community Driver Mentor Programme (CDMP) coordinated by the New Zealand Transport Agency, (NZTA).

The CDMP was aimed at giving disadvantaged young drivers the resources and range of driving experiences they needed to pass their restricted licence test and develop safer driving behaviours. The programme addressed the challenges that learner drivers in the 16 to 24–year age group often face such as access to a suitable vehicle and an experienced mentor to teach them safe driving habits.

The Waitomo and Otorohanga District Councils have combined local road safety budgets to fund a two-year programme similar to the previous CDMP and will target young drivers who already have their learner's licence and support them to obtain their restricted licence.

Waitomo Mayor, Brian Hanna says the vast majority of vehicle crashes on roads in both districts are caused by high-risk drivers in the 16-24 age group.

“For the best road safety outcomes and to enhance employment opportunities for young people for both our districts, we consider it important that resources are combined and directed to helping our young people."

“The new service level agreement will ensure that the programme is equally promoted in the Waitomo and Otorohanga Districts with every endeavour to support an equal split of student enrolments from the two districts,” says Mayor Hanna.

For more information, and to register your interest in the Restricted Driver Licence Programme, visit Alternatively collect an enrolment form from your school reception, Te Kuiti Community House, Otorohanga Support House, Wintec Otorohanga, or Number Twelve Youth Hub Te Kuiti.

Otorohanga District Mayor Max Baxter and Waitomo District Mayor Brian Hanna

Photo: Otorohanga District Mayor Max Baxter and Waitomo District Mayor Brian Hanna encourage young people to obtain their restricted licence.