Unite Against COVID-19

*** Waitomo District now in Alert level 3***
Click here for our service information under Level 3. Click here to view the All of Government Support Services Information. The government website has everything you need to know about COVID-19 including the latest updates. Please keep safe and stay at home.

Nominations open for Citizens Awards

29 Mar 2016, 9:43 AM

Waitomo District Council is calling for nominations for the 2016 Waitomo District Citizens Awards.

The awards recognise the outstanding achievements of individuals, who through their exceptional community spirit and dedication have made a significant contribution within the Waitomo district.

Past winners of the 'Lifetime Achievement' award include Dot Ball, Ray (Muzz) Coffin, Mike Johnson and Hari Nahna (2015).

Past winners of the 'Citizen of the Year' award include Desiree McKenzie (2015) and Terry Bradley (2014).

Hosted by the Waitomo District Council, community development coordinator Donna Macdonald encourages all local residents to nominate anyone they believe deserves the recognition. “These awards are for things that people have done for the benefit of the community. “They help to make the Waitomo district a better place to live.”

Nominations close April 1st. The awards ceremony is expected to be held on Sunday May 29th at the Les Munro Centre Te Kuiti.

For more information about the awards nomination criteria or to download a nomination form click here.