Nominate a community supehero

20 Jul 2020, 12:00 PM

Nominations are open for Waitomo District Citizens Awards.


Run by Waitomo District Council (WDC) the awards celebrate and recognise the achievements of individuals, who through their outstanding community spirit and dedication have made a significant contribution to the Waitomo district.


Established in 2012 the awards honour and acknowledge the people who make Waitomo a great place to live and are celebrated every two years.


Helen Beever, GM community services says, “nominations opened just before lockdown, but were then put on hold.


COVID-19 has seen many events cancelled so it’s fantastic we’re able to plan a celebration and recognise those who make our community great.”


Nominations are open for locals deserving of the Citizen Award and Lifetime Achievement Award.  Winners of both awards will be recognised at an awards celebration and afternoon tea to be held  later in the year at the Les Munro Centre in Te Kuiti. 


“We know there are so many people in our community who do great things, and the recognition isn’t the reason why they do it, but it’s important we celebrate these unsung heroes and thank them for their contributions, so we hope to see plenty of nominations.”


Past Waitomo Citizen Award winners are – Hilary Karatiana, Sandra Squier, Terry Bradley, Desiree McKenzie, Sheryl Johnson and 2018 joint winners Shelley Mitchell and Vicki Coll.


Nominations close 5pm on August 10. Forms and criteria are available here


2018 Award Recipients