Candidates to stand for Council elections

12 Aug 2022, 12:07 PM

Despite a slow start to the Elections nomination period, Waitomo District residents and ratepayers will now be spoilt for choice in who they want to represent them in the upcoming Local Elections on 8 October.

At the close of the nomination period at midday today, a total of 13 candidates were received.

There are a total of seven positions available: one mayor, three Te Kūiti urban seats and three Waitomo Rural seats.


The candidates are (in alphabetical order):

Mayor: Andy Connors, John Robertson

Waitomo Rural: Phil Brodie, Allan Goddard, Ross Herewini, Janette Osborne, Marilyn Park, Ronald Takerei, Gavin Todd

Te Kūiti Urban: Eady Manawaiti, Luke Moss, Janene New, Dan Tasker


Chief Executive Ben Smit says now that we have our candidates, it is over to the voters to decide who they want to represent our communities.

“Your vote is super important because the Mayor and Councillors have a huge impact on the future of your district,” he says.

“I encourage you to learn about what your candidates are standing for and most importantly get out and vote.”

Councils are responsible for much of the social, cultural, environmental and economic well-being of our communities.

This includes bringing us safe drinking water and managing building permits and resource consents.

They also run our libraries, parks, playgrounds and swimming pool, collect our rubbish and recycling, keep our streets well-lit, and encourage a thriving arts and culture scene by supporting events and parades.

“Our elected members will have a defining role in the future of the Waitomo District,” says Ben.

“They make the decisions on shaping our future and are a voice for our community.”

Local elections are held by postal vote, with voting papers being distributed between Friday 16 September and Wednesday 21 September.

Voting papers will also include an option of voting for two Councillors to represent the Waipa-King Country constituency and one Councillor to represent the Nga Tai ki Uta for Waikato Regional Council.

Voters will have until midday on Saturday 8 October to return their voting form, either by return mail, or by dropping into a ballot box at Waitomo District Council’s main office, Te Kuiti i-SITE or Waitomo District Library.

Progress results will be available, and the declaration of the final results will be made as soon as possible following the close of voting.


Please click here to read the rules about the use of social media during the elections period.