Motakiora/Brook Park top section closed until further notice
For health and safety reasons, Waitomo District Council has closed the top section of Motakiora/ Brook Park for ALL recreational use until further notice.
As a result of the weekend’s heavy rainfall event, a section of track to the summit is hazardous and a large slip has taken out part of the mountain bike track, which is also popular with walkers.
There is risk of further multiple slips and damage if the rain continues.
The rotunda and toilet is still accessible, however we urge residents and users to exercise caution if entering this area.
Signage advising of the closure will be erected onsite soon. Please do not venture into the red zone.
Thank you for your understanding and co-operation.

Councillors recognised for their service

8 Oct 2022, 8:51 AM


Outgoing Councillors Guy Whitaker and Lisa Marshall were recognised for their service to the community at their last Council meeting of the triennium on Thursday.

Councillor Whitaker has served four terms on the Waitomo District Council, including three as Deputy Mayor, and Councillor Marshall is retiring after serving one term.

Both Councillors represented the Te Kūiti Urban ward, and were dedicated to the role and the community.

During the meeting, Councillor Allan Goddard expressed his well wishes to Lisa, saying he appreciated her support and it was a shame she wasn’t seeking re-election.

Councillor Janene New acknowledged Councillor Whitaker as an example of walking the talk by serving the community willingly and extensively.

“You can be seen actively involved in your community in a voluntary capacity, including chair of the Brook Park Committee for at least nine years, a representative on the alcohol licensing committee, chair of DC Tynan Trust, and the Sister City Committee.”

As well as serving as a Councillor and Deputy Mayor, Councillor Whitaker also serves as a Justice of the Peace, and has dedicated more than 20 years of service to the Te Kūiti Fire Brigade.

At a presentation after the meeting, the two retiring Councillors were presented with a silver tray each.

At that time Mayor John Robertson recognised their efforts and achievements.