Motakiora/Brook Park top section closed until further notice
For health and safety reasons, Waitomo District Council has closed the top section of Motakiora/ Brook Park for ALL recreational use until further notice.
As a result of the weekend’s heavy rainfall event, a section of track to the summit is hazardous and a large slip has taken out part of the mountain bike track, which is also popular with walkers.
There is risk of further multiple slips and damage if the rain continues.
The rotunda and toilet is still accessible, however we urge residents and users to exercise caution if entering this area.
Signage advising of the closure will be erected onsite soon. Please do not venture into the red zone.
Thank you for your understanding and co-operation.

WDC Notices

30 May 2017


The Waitomo District Council will be closed on Monday 5 June 2017.

Waitomo District Landfill is closed.

District Transfer Stations:

Kinohaku, Awakino and Marokopa Transfer Stations are open from 9am - 1pm.

Piopio and Benneydale Transfer Stations are closed.Kerbside Refuse and Recycling Collection Services. There are no services taking place as per normal.

Waitomo District Library is closed.

Te Kuiti Visitor Information Centre iSITE is open from 10am to 2pm.

For after hours service requests and complaints please phone 0800 932 4357.

Waitomo District Mayor, Council members and staff wish you all a safe and happy holiday.