Weather Watch - Severe Thunderstorm
MetService New Zealand has issued a severe thunderstorm watch for our district (mainly coastal), which is valid from 8.12am until 1pm this afternoon. More info
Matariki Public Holiday - Friday 28 June 2024

Our Customer Service Centre, admin office, library and other services are closed for the Matariki Public Holiday 28 June 2024. View more info

Regional infrastructure specifications to provide certainty for developers

29 Aug 2017, 1:17 PM

Councils from across the Waikato region have come together to prepare a single set of specifications to allow developers certainty when new subdivisions are built.

The Regional Infrastructure Technical Specifications (RITS) have been prepared by Waikato Local Authority Shared Services (WLASS), an organisation which provides a platform for Councils to work together to reduce costs and provide more efficient and effective service to ratepayers and customers. 

Once the RITS is completed, it is up to each individual Council to put in place a process for it to be linked to their District Plan.

The benefit of a common set of standards for developers is that they will get a good understanding of whether their proposed development will be accepted by the relevant Council without having to go through a potentially lengthy and expensive process.

As the RITS will be applied across the Waikato Region, developers that operate in more than one local authority area will enjoy greater efficiencies by working to a single set of agreed standards.

Besides development, the RITS is also able to be used as the technical specification for construction and maintenance contracts, meaning companies working on behalf of Councils or developers can get a clear understanding of the standards required by these projects.

Over the past 10 years a number of Councils have been developing their own standards, which has seen some variation in the requirements. In early 2016 a project was begun under the WLASS to centralise the specifications in one document. 

As part of this all the Councils taking part in the RITS project were able to contribute along with other key stakeholders; Waikato Raupatu River Trust, Waikato Regional Council and the Property Council. 

The Councils taking part in the RITS initiative are;

  • Hamilton City Council
  • Hauraki District Council
  • Waikato District Council
  • Waipa District Council
  • Matamata-Piako District Council
  • Otorohanga District Council
  • Waitomo District Council
  • South Waikato District Council

For further information please click here.

Submissions close at 5pm, Wednesday 4 October 2017.