Matariki Public Holiday - Friday 28 June 2024
Our Customer Service Centre, admin office, library and other services are closed for the Matariki Public Holiday 28 June 2024. View more info
Planned water shutdown: William Street, Te Kūiti – Wednesday 26 June 2024

Waitomo District Council will shutdown the water supply to the northern part of William Street and a few houses on Anzac Street and Julian Street in Te Kūiti. The shutdown will be from 8.30am to 4pm on Wednesday 26 June 2024 to enable Council contractor McIndoe Group to replace an old water pipe.

More info

LGNZ Local Government Funding Review working group appointments

16 Jul 2014, 2:02 PM

Waitomo District Council Chief Executive Chris Ryan has been appointed to a cross-sector working group for the LGNZ Local Government Funding Review. The purpose of the group is to consider alternative and sustainable ways to fund local government infrastructure and services. 

LGNZ announced its Local Government Funding Review in April because the sustainability of local government funding has become an increasingly important policy issue in the face of rapid demographic and economic changes.  The Review recognises that New Zealand councils have a high reliance on property taxes, which is unusual by international standards.

A working group has been appointed to investigate complementary funding alternatives, and is chaired by Auckland Council Councillor Penny Webster, also a member of LGNZ’s National Council.  Other members of the working group are:

Auckland Chamber of Commerce Chief Executive and Local Government Forum Chair Michael Barnett;

Auckland Council Chief of Staff, Office of the Mayor, Phil Wilson;

Auckland Council Treasurer and Local Government Funding Agency Chief Executive designate, Mark Butcher;

Cameron Partners Partner Rob Cameron;

Christchurch City Council Councillor and Chair of Finance Committee, Raf Manji;

Federated Farmers  Manager General Policy,  Nick Clark;

New Zealand Council for Infrastructure Development Chief Executive, Stephen Selwood;

New Zealand Initiative Executive Director, Dr. Oliver Hartwich;

Otago Regional Council Chief Executive, Peter Bodeker;

Queenstown District Council Chief Executive Adam Feeley;

Victoria University Professor of Public Policy Prof. Claudia Scott ; and Waitomo District Council Chief Executive, Chris Ryan.

The working group will explore funding options and alternatives and review funding mechanisms for appropriateness in a New Zealand context, with a focus is on developing a strategy and model that is sustainable for New Zealand communities in the long term.

The group held its first meeting yesterday.  Its initial consultation report is expected in November.