Weather Warning for Waitomo
Waitomo District is expecting a significant amount of rainfall over the next few days. Once again, this will likely have a major impact on our roads and farmland. We ask residents to please take caution and do not venture out into the weather if you do not need to. And if possible, move stock to higher ground.
Surface flooding and excess water may also slow the drainage of the stormwater and wastewater network. We are not expecting any significant impact to the network, water will just take a little longer to drain.
We will keep you updated as information comes to hand.
Stay safe.

Waitomo District Citizens Awards

27 May 2015, 9:39 AM

You are invited to join us in celebrating the achievements of the following people

Desiree McKenzie

Desiree was nominated for Citizen of the Year by users of Community House for her passion for the Waitomo Community and her willingness to make it a better place for all.

In particular there was reference to the work she has done to help make the driver training programme such a success.

Lifetime Achievement Awards 

Ray Coffin was nominated by the Regional Maori Council in particular for the work he has done for the Maniapoto Maori Wardens over the last 47 years but also for the many committees and activities he has been involved in over many years.

Hari Nahna was nominated for his outstanding service to the Te Kuiti St Johns over the last 30 years.

Mike Johnson was nominated for his 26 years of service to St Johns for both Piopio and Te Kuiti.

Dot Ball was nominated for her dedication to Maniapoto Netball for over 50 years.

Presentations will be made to recipients on Sunday June 7th at 2pm, Waitomo Cultural and Arts Centre.

RSVP to Donna Macdonald by 5pm Wednesday 3rd June 2015. Ph 0800 932 4357.