Waitomo District Youth Council members appointed for 2019

20 Aug 2019

The Waitomo District Youth Council (WDYC) members were officially inducted in the Council Chambers on Friday 2nd August 2019.  The group of eight students from Te Kuiti High School, Te Wharekura o Maniapoto and Waikato University are aged 15-19 years.

Council approved a new work plan that aligns with the calendar year, and it is hoped this will better accommodate the student’s availability and busy school schedules. The members are confident they will make progress with the work plan and their familiarity with each other will be beneficial in that space.  

The students were asked what motivated them to stand for the WDYC and some answers included; learning about what the council does, taking opportunities to learn new things and doing 'cool stuff' for young people in the district. 

Waitomo District Mayor Brian Hanna and Councillor Janene New congratulated the students on their appointment and provided some insight into the role of governance, and the opportunity to have a positive impact in their communities now and in the future.  Mayor Hanna was particularly impressed with the students that opted to re-stand for WDYC this year.

“This is the third term for some of these young people and I’d like to think it’s a reflection that they want to be a part of making decisions in our communities.” “That’s a win when we are investing in our future.” Said Hanna.

Community Development Coordinator Clowdy Ngatai says the first project for the group is to plan and host a Leaders Dinner this coming Friday night.  The focus for this event is to encourage young people form our area to dream big, tempered only by the necessity of hard work.

“WDYC are working hard to make sure this formal black-tie event is just as they planned”  “It’s an opportunity to highlight the outstanding young people in our district who are succeeding in academic studies, entrepreneurship, and community connection, while inspiring others to reach their goals and fulfil their dreams.” Says Mrs. Ngatai.

The following week on Thursday 29 August 2019, we will start a whole new relationship with both Matamata-Piako Volunteer Youth Ambassadors and Tauranga Youth Advisory Group. This will provide an opportunity for our young people to be connecting with these groups to better gain an understanding of the contribution that youth councillors have made in other parts of the country.

Waitomo District Council supports the involvement of young people in Local Government and provides positive and effective guidance for the decision-makers of the future.

waitomo district youth council 2019

PHOTO:  (Back row, from left) Tae Jones - Youth Intact Trust, Taetia Kopa - Te Kuiti High School, Ngarangi Barrett - Te Kuiti High School, and Kristen Joyce – deputy of Te Kuiti High School.  (Second row) Paige Te Miringa Coffin-Bell - Waikato University, Makarena Moana - Te Wharekura o Maniapoto, Waipono Jerry – Te Wharekura o Maniapoto, Hinearangi Ngatai – Te Kuiti High School. (Front row) Clowdy Ngatai – WDC Community Development Coordinator, Mayor Brian Hanna and Councillor Janene New. (Absent: Xavier Turner and Hannah Brough).